Path to a Peaceful Heart: Part 3

The Words We Choose Matter

 

Words are powerful. They can, if strung together in just the right pattern, change lives.  You can choose to make your life more peaceful by thoughtfully examining your daily word choices.

Words reflect the soul of the person that speaks them.  They will effect those who hear them in either a positive or negative way.  If you choose words that uplift, heal, problem solve, soothe, and promote good will, then those with whom you come in contact will generally mirror your tone.

Nobody likes to be around a cranky, down in the dumps, stick in the mud.  This type of person, and we all know at least one, creates his/her own misery by choosing to constantly share their negative thoughts and words with those they meet.  Though he or she might actually be seeking solace from the listener, it usually accomplishes the opposite.

When I teach writing, I spend a lot of time on word choice and how it affects the tone of a story. We examine pieces of writing with angry, divisive words and compare them with pieces that contain soothing and peaceful ones.  The tone in the classroom invariably corresponds with the tone of the writing. It is often an eye opening experience for the students to feel this on a visceral level.

Such it is in life.  Each day you are the author of a new page in your life story. If you want to live in peace, choose words that promote it.

 

This entry was posted in A Peaceful Heart and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Path to a Peaceful Heart: Part 3

  1. ayala says:

    How true, words are powerful. I have found the way someone talks to me can affect my day and my disposition . I love your last line-well said !

    • Yes, Ayla, but remember that their words are a reflection of them, not you! Don’t give that power to feel great away to someone who chooses to speak in a negative manner. I always remember the rhyme my brothers and I used to “scream” at each other when we were young… “I’m rubber and you’re glue. Whatever you say bounces off me and sticks to you!” Still makes me smile~

  2. Windy Lynn says:

    Wow, Susan. Well said. I’ll try to listen to myself this week and see how I’m doing!

  3. Jennifer says:

    A beautiful way to begin a new month. We should all try for more words of peace.

Leave a Reply

